School Leadership

Great schools require great leaders. Education leaders are identified, developed, and supported through the Leadership Pipeline, a collaboration with Hamilton County Department of Education.

Support for New Principals

We know being  a principal is a tough job. As part of the Leadership Pipeline, all first and second year principals are paired with a successful, retired principal who has been extensively trained to coach these new principals.  Each principal coach spends at least one full day a week with first-year principals providing support and advice and is also “on-call” around the clock.  Second year principals and their coaches organize their own meeting schedule, but spend a minimum of 20 days together throughout the year.  The coaches come together on a regular basis to collaborate and share what’s working, solve problems, and learn best practices.

2018-2019 Coaches

Paula Burgner              Dionne Upton – Woodmore Elementary

Steve Holmes               Mary Catherine Gatlin – Loftis Middle

Steve Holmes               Dawn Lim – Ooltewah Middle

Steve Holmes               Carrie Willmore – Normal Park

Reuben Justice            Christy Drake – East Ridge Middle

Ismahen Kangles        Juan Moreno – East Ridge Elementary

Susan Kennedy*          Jill Evans – Rivermont Elementary

Susan Kennedy*          Jeff Paulson – Thrasher Elementary

Penny Leffew                Lee Ziegler – Daisy Elementary

Penny Leffew                Ursula Greene – Hixson Elementary

Faye Pharr*                   Kristy Dillard – Spring Creek Elementary

Faye Pharr*                   Greg Wilkey – East Side Elementary

Joanne Smith               Roxanne Anthony – Barger Academy

Joanne Smith               Robin Bambrey – Hardy Elementary

Joanne Smith               Lindsay Starnes – Clifton Hills Elementary

Jean Trohanis               Debbie Caudle – Westview Elementary

Jean Trohanis               Jesse Goins – Battle Academy

Edna Varner*                Gerald Harris – Tyner Academy

Edna Varner*                Christopher James – Brainerd High

*NAESP Nationally Certified Coaches

Rather than simply pairing a new principal with a coach and hoping for the best, all the coaches participate in an intensive, three day training camp designed by the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) and delivered by national trainers.  The training camp focuses on developing the key skills coaches need to have to improve the performance of new principals.

Seven of the coaches have gone through NAESP’s eight month program in order to earn a national certification- more than any other district in the nation.  Their additional work not only increases the skills of these seven coaches, it also ensures that we have the capacity to train future coaches.

National Certified Coaches

NAESP-certified Coaches