School Leadership

Great schools require great leaders. Education leaders are identified, developed, and supported through the Leadership Pipeline, a collaboration with Hamilton County Department of Education.

Leadership Fellows

Our year-long, twenty-day Leadership Fellows program is designed to give emerging school leaders in Hamilton County the skills and knowledge needed to participate in decision-making and school improvement. Serving around 30 educators per year, the program involves monthly workshops, job shadowing, school visits, mentoring, study groups, leadership projects, presentations and a portfolio. Leadership Fellows are chosen through a strict selection process by a committee that includes an elementary principal, a secondary principal, an HCDE Director, a PEF Director and a business leader.

Leadership Fellows Overview


The PEF Leadership Fellows Initiative helps educators learn the skills to become good leaders, but it does not guarantee a position of leadership or promotion. The Hamilton County Department of Education selects and places all administrators in schools.

We are proud to welcome the nineteenth class of leadership fellows. These fellows were chosen through a strict selection process by a committee that included an elementary principal, a secondary principal, a HCDE Director, a PEF Director and a business leader.

LF 19 Cohort: 2017-2018

  • Sarah Andrews – Normal Park Upper
  • Kristin Barbree – East Ridge High
  • Joey Bird – East Hamilton M/H
  • Ashley Cox – Howard School
  • Sara Crabtree – Rivermont Elementary
  • Drew Daniels – Loftis Middle
  • Megan Ferguson – Red Bank High
  • Comelia Franceschi – CSLA
  • Stephanie Garner – East Ridge Elementary
  • Shellie Gibson – Smith Elementary
  • Veronica Green Wolftever Creek Elementary
  • Katie Hamby – Shepherd Elem/Barger Academy
  • Brittany Hamilton – Tyner Middle
  • Blaise Hixson – East Ridge Elementary
  • Stefan Hunt – Red Bank High
  • Shelly Jackson – Spring Creek Elementary
  • Andria Johnson – Nolan Elementary
  • Jeremy Jones – Walker Valley High
  • Tarah Kemp – DuPont Elementary
  • Heidi King – Hamilton County High
  • Grant Knowles – Normal Park Upper
  • Jasmine Lloyd – Dalewood Middle
  • Megan Oliver – Ooltewah Middle
  • Julie Park – Big Ridge Elementary
  • Jennifer Rodgers – Middle Valley Elementary
  • Kara Rogers – Normal Park Upper
  • Nikki Russell – Barger Academy
  • Daphne Shilling – Smith Elementary
  • Danielle Smith – North Hamilton Elementary
  • Jennifer Whalen – Red Bank Middle
  • Miranda Whittington – Cleveland High
  • Meredith Ziegenmier – Snow Hill Elementary


Congratulations to the 18th class of Leadership Fellows!

LF18 Cohort

Leadership Fellows is a partnership between PEF and the Hamilton County Department of Education.

For more information on Leadership Fellows contact:

Chitra Chandrasekaran – Coordinator, Leadership Initiative

423.668.2422 •